Chris Gayle hits fastest century in history during IPL match

Chris Gayle

BIG BASH: Chris Gayle set a Twenty20 cricket record, scoring 175 not out, smashing a century in 30 balls, in an Indian Premier League match, playing for Bangalore.
Chris Gayle set a new record for the fastest century in professional cricket by reaching 100 off 30 balls.
The West Indies batsman, 33, beat Australian Andrew Symonds's 34-ball ton in 2004 and he went on to record the highest Twenty20 score of 175 not out.
Gayle smashed 17 sixes and 13 fours in a 66-ball knock, beating Brendan McCullum of New Zealand's 158 not out.
His Royal Challengers Bangalore side hit a T20 record 263-5 and beat Pune Warriors in the Indian Premier League.
That score eclipsed the previous best of 260, set by Sri Lanka against Kenya in Johannesburg in September 2007. 
Explosive West Indies opener Chris Gayle smashed a century off 30 balls in an Indian Premier League match today and finished on 175 not out, the highest ever Twenty20 innings.
Playing for the Bangalore franchise, Gayle blasted 17 sixes and 13 fours off just 66 deliveries to take his team to a mammoth total of 263 for five wickets.
Pune captain Aaron Finch watched helplessly as the 33-year-old Jamaican swatted the bowlers to all parts of the ground and some of the sixes flew out of the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.
Gayle's 30-ball century eclipsed the 34-ball hundred scored by Australian Andrew Symonds for Kent against Middlesex in 2004. The left-hander also posted the highest individual score in a Twenty20 game, going past New Zealander Brendon McCullum's 158.
Flamboyant Pakistani Shahid Afridi holds the record of fastest international century in the 50-over format (37 balls) and South African Richard Richard Levi (45 balls) has made the quickest international T20 hundred. 

  • 30 balls: Chris Gayle, Royal Challengers Bangalore v Pune Warriors, IPL, 23 April 2013
  • 34 balls: Andrew Symonds, Kent v Middlesex, Twenty20 Cup, 2 July 2004
  • 35 balls: Louis van der Westhuizen, Namibia v Kenya, unofficial T20 international, 7 November 2011
  • 37 balls: Shahid Afridi, Pakistan v Sri Lanka, ODI, 4 October 1996
  • 37 balls: Scott Styris, Sussex v Gloucs, Twenty20 Cup, 24 July 2012
  • 37 balls: Yusuf Pathan, Rajasthan Royals v Mumbai Indians, IPL, 13 March 2010


No comments:

Post a comment